In your dashboard, you’ll find a number of options to interact with publications. We’ll talk about all of them here.

In this article

  • Previewing a publication
  • Editing a publication
  • Duplicating a publication
  • Deleting a publication
  • Getting form results
  • Accessing reports
  • Taking a publication offline
  • Setting default publications for viewers (Show as first)

You'll see them here:

Previewing a publication

You can preview your publication to see what it looks like outside our editor. If you’ve already published your publication, the preview also allows you to preview your changes before setting them live by republishing your publication.

The preview URL is freely shareable and can be accessed by anyone, even if they don’t have a Foleon account. If you want to share a preview of your publication with someone simply send them the preview URL.

Note: the preview of your publication can’t be found through search engines and is only accessible to those that have the URL.

Editing a publication

You can always edit any publication you wish, regardless of what its status is.

Duplicating a publication

You can easily duplicate an existing publication. Keep in mind that this might take a few seconds based on the size of the publication. If it takes too long, you might need to refresh the editor to see the newly created duplicate.

Deleting a publication

If you choose to delete a publication, keep in mind that this cannot be undone. Once you’ve deleted a publication, it will no longer be accessible in the editor or on its URL. The form submissions you’ve gathered with a publication and the reporting metrics will also no longer be accessible. So, make sure you’re absolutely sure a publication can be deleted before you do so.

If a visitor navigates to the URL of a deleted publication, they will automatically be redirected to the most recent published publication within its project (previously known as publication groups). You can also decide which publication visitors get redirected to by setting a publication of your choosing to Show as first. We talk more about how you can do this further down in this article.

Important note: if you’re planning on deleting a published publication, make sure you set it offline first (otherwise it will remain online. We talk more about how you can do this further down in this article.

Getting form results

Depending on your license, Foleon offers different ways to gather information about your visitors. All of the information you’ve acquired can be downloaded as a CSV here. You can also set up email notification for each submission per form in the editor. 

Alternatively, you can also automatically process and transfer form submissions from Foleon to 1,000+ other apps through our Zapier integration. Find out how this works in our article: Connecting Foleon to Zapier.

Accessing reports

Foleon has built-in reporting that gives you easy access to the most important metrics on your content’s performance. Analyze how your content is performing and collect learnings to make your next piece of content even better. You can access the reports per publication here.

Read more about our built-in reporting in our article: How to access our built-in reporting metrics.

Note: This option is only visible for published publications.

Taking a publication offline

If you want to unpublish a publication (take it offline), you can do that here. The publication will then no longer be available on its URL.

If a visitor navigates to the URL of a publication that was taken offline, they will automatically be redirected to the most recent published publication within its project. You can also decide which publication visitors get redirected to by setting a publication of your choosing to Show as first. We’ll talk more about how you can do this further down in this article.

Note: if you’re planning to delete a published publication, make sure you set it to offline first. Otherwise, it will remain online. If you need help resolving this, please contact support@foleon.com.

Setting default publications for viewers (Show as first)

If a visitor navigates to the base URL of your project (a URL without a publication alias), a URL with an incorrect publication alias, or the URL of a publication that was deleted or taken offline, they will automatically be directed to the most recent published publication within its project. 

If you want visitors to always get directed to a certain publication in any of the above cases, you can set a publication to Show as first. You will need to republish the chosen publication afterward for this change to take effect.

Important note: Keep in mind that, in order to keep a publication showing as first, you’ll have to republish it every time after you’ve published a new publication within that project.

Related articles

Did this answer your question?