Projects are an important part of Foleon. In this article, we’ll talk about how you work with them, what their settings are, and how to manage them.

In this article

  • About projects
  • All project settings explained
  • Managing projects
  • Moving a publication to a different project
  • Deleting a project

About projects

With Foleon, every publication you create is part of a project. Each project has its own settings: a hostname, Google Analytics code, and default logos. These settings apply to every publication within a project.

Next to these settings, a project also has an editions option. This option contains all publications of that project. Visitors of your publications will be able to access different published publications within a project through the navigation bar of a publication. However, you can turn this off for each publication through the respective publication’s settings.

See how Foleon content is structured in the chart below.

By default, every Foleon license includes 10 active live publications. These 10 publications can be divided into several projects or all be placed in one project. When 10 publications have been published it is not possible to publish the 11th one.  In order to publish this one, a new bundle of 5 publications needs to be purchased via the store or your Customer Success Manager.

On your dashboard, you’ll find a button to your projects on the left sidebar. 

In the Project overview, you can create a new project (1), select a certain project you want to work in (2), go to the project settings (3), Create a new publication (4), and manage existing publications (5). 

All project settings explained

Once you’ve selected a project from the list, you can change its settings via the button ‘project settings’.

Important note: All of these project settings apply to every publication within a project. If you’ve made changes to your project settings, you’ll have to republish all previously published publications within that project to set your changes live for each publication.

Here you’ll see the different project settings:

Let’s dive into what the different project settings mean and what they can do:

Project name
The project name is only visible in our platform to help you stay organized.

Project alias
The project alias is used in preview URLs. If you’re not using your own root domain or subdomain, it is also in published URLs.

The hostname
By default, your publications will be visible on: 

https://account-alias.foleon.com/project-alias/publication-alias/page-alias

Read more about the hostname in our article: Hosting Foleon publications.

Google Analytics code
Our platform offers built-in reporting that gives you access to the most important performance metrics on your content. However, if you’re looking for more granular data, you can also keep track of your publications’ performance with Google Analytics by inserting your Google Analytics tracking ID.

Read more about Google Analytics in our article: Connecting Google Analytics to your Foleon publications.

Set primary publications for viewers (Show as first)

When a visitor navigates to the base URL of your project (a URL without a publication alias), a URL with an incorrect publication alias, or the URL of a publication that was deleted or taken offline, they will automatically be directed to the most recent published publication within this project.

If you want visitors to always get directed to a certain publication in any of the above cases, you can add this publication as The Primary Publication. This can only be done in the Project Settings in the dashboard.

Simply click on Project Settings in the dashboard and scroll all the way down in the menu that appears.
Select the publication you want to set as your primary publication for viewers and click on save.

Note: You'll have to (re)publish the selected publication for this change to take effect.

Managing projects

When you scroll down in the project settings via your dashboard, you see a button to delete the project. Be aware that this deletes the project and all publications within that project.

It’s important to realize that when you delete a publication project, all publications in that project (including all form submissions and publication metrics) will also be deleted. These will no longer be accessible in the editor or on their respective (preview or published) URLs. Deleting a project or a publication cannot be undone.

Important note: if you’re planning to delete a project that contains published publications, make sure you set them offline first. Otherwise, they will remain online. Read more about setting a publication offline in our article: About publication context menus > Online.

Moving a publication to another project

If you want to move a publication from one project to another, you can do that by clicking the 3 dots located on the publication. From there, the option to Move to other project will appear. You can then choose the new project from the drop-down menu and select Move.

Related articles

Did this answer your question?