Blocks are the base for every page. Columns and elements can only be added to a page if there is a block on the page to put them in. In the editor, we provide a wide variety of template blocks to choose from. These template blocks already contain columns and elements.

In this article

  • Block templates
  • Block settings
  • Duplicating a block
  • Moving a block
  • Deleting a block

Block templates

To add a block to the page click on Blocks on the left bar in the editor. The blocks section will open all the templates you can choose from. The templates are divided into a couple of categories to help you find what you are looking for. If you want to see all the block templates, select All and scroll down. 

Click on the block of your choice, hold and drag it onto the page. You will see a purple bar where you can drop the block. Drop it wherever you see this purple bar and it will be added to your page.

Block settings explained

Every block has its own settings. They can be edited by hovering over the block and clicking on the gear icon on the purple settings bar in the top left corner of the block.

General Settings

From the general settings, you can edit the size of the block and the column gutter between the columns within that block. 

The first thing you can adjust is the Full height. This option will set the block to the full height of the browser you are viewing a publication in. Regardless of the size of this browser, the block will always be fullscreen. The full height option is mostly used on cover pages or pages that contain fullscreen videos for instance. 

Next is the Full width. When activated, the columns within the block will be displayed over the full width of the block. When deactivated, the columns will have some spacing on the left and right sides of them. 

The column gutter is the space between the columns within a block. We have a set default margin between columns. To adjust space, go to the general settings and change the gutter there.

Background

The background of a block can be set in the background settings. Here you can choose to either have a background color, a background image or a background video. With the background images, you can determine the scroll speed which would add a really cool effect to the publication. 

Note: When both the background color and the background image are added, it can happen that the color shows quickly before the image is displayed. We advise choosing only one of the options to avoid this.

When you scroll down in the settings, you will see an option to set the focus of the background image and make sure the right part of the image is shown on every device.


The background color overlay is also set here. This gives the background image a nice effect and especially gets used when there’s text on the background image. With a background color overlay, the text is more easily read.

Border

A border can be set around the whole block or, when you turn ‘All sides at once’ off, the border can be placed at all sides separately. The color and thickness of the border can be set here as well. 

Animation

A really cool feature is the animation setting. With this setting, you can decide whether you want the block with its columns and elements to fly in, zoom in, fade-in, etc.

You can choose whether you want the block animate once or every time it appears on the screen.

Tip: don’t overdo the animation, the readers will have too much to look at and can’t focus on what is really important.

Spacing

Set the spacing of the block with this setting. The more spacing you add, the more the columns will be away from the block sides. Here you can choose to set all sides at once, or set every side separately.

Visibility

Want a block that is not visible on another device? In the visibility settings, you can turn off the visibility on desktop, tablet or mobile. 

Duplicating a block

A block can be duplicated by clicking on the Duplicate icon of the block settings. 

Blocks can be duplicated onto the same page but can not copied into another page. 

Moving a block

Blocks can be moved by clicking on the Drag icon and dragging it to another spot on the same page. The block can be moved to where op the page a purple bar shows. Blocks can not be moved to other pages. 

Deleting a block

When a block needs to be deleted, click on the trash can icon in the purple settings bar. A small pop-up will appear in which you are asked if you are sure you want to delete the entire block. 

If you are sure, click Delete and the block will be permanently deleted and cannot be retrieved. 

Related articles

Did this answer your question?